//
today's idea...
Food

A Dozen Donuts

Americans love donuts.  I’m actually not totally crazy about them – my sister and I were always kind of the weirdos in Sunday School while all the other kids devoured them.  However.  I know a lot of us love them, and when I saw this baked donut recipe recently, for whatever reason, I just had to try it.  They of course taste different than what you’re probably used to, but they are still super fluffy and light.  Oh, and healthier.  So Ryan and I ate half a dozen this morning : )

If you don’t have an oven, try one of these oven ideas, or I’d imagine you could also just deep fry them like normal donuts.  Frying loads of oil always freaks me out – but if you try it let me know how they turn out!

I basically followed the recipe in the link, but halved it to make just a dozen.  I also didn’t have butter, or nutmeg.  And I definitely don’t have donut cutters (whatever those are), so as you can see in the pic I just used a plastic lid to cut out the outside of the donut, and a bottle cap to cut out the center.  They’re not the sharpest objects ever so it required quite a bit of jiggling to cut the dough, but hey it worked.  After a while I got lazy and just made donut holes (or more accurately, blobby globs) with the remaining dough.

Let me know if you have another good recipe, or come up with some variations on this one!

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup warm milk (I use powdered milk & water – make sure it’s not too hot)
  • 1 Tablespoon of yeast
  • 1 Tablespoon margarine or oil
  • 1/2 cup (or so) sugar
  • 2 1/2 cups of flour, sifted well to make the dough lighter
  • 1 egg, beaten well
  • Nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger powder, or whatever spices you like
  • Pinch of salt

Directions

  1. Stir yeast and a spoonfull of sugar into the milk until dissolves.  Let set about 7 minutes to make sure that the yeast is active and bubbling.
  2. Mix together flour, salt, remaining sugar, and a pinch of nutmeg (if you have it).  This morning I tried making a chai-spice mix of cinnamon, ginger powder and cardamom (just a little – I accidentally overdid it today).
  3. Add in yeast mixture, butter/oil, and beaten egg.  Mix well with spoon, then knead.
  4. Knead the dough for about 10 minutes.  I needed to add a bit more flour as I was kneading to keep the dough from getting too sticky.  Just dust some flour on your hands on over the top of the dough when it gets sticky, and keep kneading.  The dough should feel pretty light.
  5. Drop the dough into an oiled bowl, and cover with a towel.  Let it rise until doubled in size.
  6. Press the dough out so it’s about 1/2 inch thick, and cut out circles and holes.
  7. Place donuts on greased baking pan and let rise about 45 minutes or until doubled in size again.
  8. Pop them in the oven at 375 F ( C) for about 8-10 minutes.  Do not over bake!!
  9. When done baking, and while they are still piping hot, spread just a bit of butter/oil on the tops and dip them in a mixture of cinnamon and sugar.
  10. Eat a lot of them.  With coffee.

***

Posted by Daphne | Cambodia

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

most popular